A Tale of Two Thanksgivings

I feel like my life should be accompanied by a Britney Spears soundtrack…something like “Oops I Did It Again” playing over and over.

Once again I’ve overcommitted my time, my energy and my resources.

And once again, I’m totally freaked out about it.

I made the commitment to celebrate the Thanksgiving holiday by cooking and serving two meals.

On the same day.

In two different cities.

ThanksgivingMeals-photo-from-herlifetravel-dot-com-cropped (Image Via)

The only commitment that should have been made was me…to a mental institution.

What in the world ever gave me the idea that I could cook and serve lunch at my parents’ home, clean up, pack their fridge with leftovers then drive an hour to my home where I would cook and serve Thanksgiving dinner to The Hubster’s family?

My house…my messy, disorganized, chaotic house…is not ready for company or any sort of celebration.

And I have exactly 17 days…well actually 16 days because it’s nearly midnight as I write this…to get this place decluttered, cleaned, and decorated. I have 16 days to plan two menus, shop for groceries in two cities, and do whatever else needs to be done so that on Thanksgiving Day this seemingly impossible endeavor appears  easy and effortless.

thanksgiving-table-7-de-from-country-living-dot-com-cropped( Image Via)

I have 16 days to conquer this tizzy I’ve spun myself into so that my families can share a meal with a non-frazzled, non-stressed-out me.

I’m not sure exactly how I’m going to pull this one off, but I’m going to give it my best shot. And so I’m making the following commitments publicly, so that I have someone other than myself to answer to.

  1. I will spend 15 minutes each day decluttering each public space in my home. Thanks to our very open floor plan this means every room except my bedroom and Jacob’s bedroom. Actually, it probably includes my bedroom, too, since that seems to be the place everyone thinks they should drop their coats and bags.
  2. I will calendar a day to clean out the fridge, the freezer, and scour the oven. I will perform those tasks on the day I calendar them.
  3. I will get sufficient rest every night for the next sixteen nights so that I don’t drive myself straight to I’m-So-Tired-I-Can’t-Think Land.
  4. I will let go of my vision of a “perfect” holiday, or a “perfect” table setting, or a “perfect” meal and instead focus on spending time with my “imperfect” family and friends. After all, they make up a good portion of my Things To Give Thanks For List.

thanksgiving table cartoon (Image Via)

Most of all, I will work to maintain an attitude of gratitude as I prepare for Thanksgiving. One day really isn’t adequate for counting my blessings.

Tags:

Categories: Family Life

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

