And He’s Off!!!

I’m thrilled! Jacob’s not.

School started yesterday, and trouble began brewing at seven a.m. That’s when Jacob spied me slipping my camera into my purse.

“You’re not going to try take any pictures, are you, Mom?” And though he assembled his words so they sounded like a question, I recognized it for the command it really was.

“You’re not going to take any pictures, Mom.”

I should be used to this drama by now. It’s been going on since the day I walked him to his kindergarten classroom six years ago.

I wasn’t allowed to take a photo then. I’m not allowed to take a photo now.

After six years you’d think I’d be used to it.

But I’m not.

I’m really not.

But I try to respect his space as much as I think is feasible so I’m trying to content myself with photos of school supplies…

…and first day outfits…

…as documentation of the first day of fifth grade.

Ya’ know what?

It’s not working for me.

I’m of the opinion that if I have to deal with back to school shopping and school lunches and endless hours of bitchin’ and pissin’ and moanin’ about homework and his procrastinating about doing the homework and PTA meetings and carpools and all the other crap that goes along with his education, the least, the very least, that he could do for me would be to allow me to take one measley stinkin’ picture.

Fortunately I have another child.

One who’ll go to school tomorrow for two hours for her kindergarten assessment.

One who swears she’ll let me take as many photos as I want.

One who’ll inherit the entirety of my estate when I die.

Take that, Mr. Don’t Take My Picture.

(P.S. If you ever read this, Jake-man, know for sure that I love you. To the moon and back. But I’d really really love to take a first day of school picture. Okay?)

Categories: Family Life, The Daily Grind

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

