Keepin’ It Together…NOT!!!

I am, by nature, a dirt dodger, a clutter bug, a pack rat. I don’t possess a single organizational gene anywhere in my DNA.

For the most part I live very comfortably among the stacks and piles in my less (a lot less!!!) than spotless house.

But yesterday I flipped out.

I woke up to a sink full of dirty dishes that The Hubster hadn’t cleaned up after he cooked. (I was out for the evening and didn’t get home until well after midnight.) There was coffee spilled on the counter, parts of The Hubster’s dinner splashed on the stove, and the cabinet door that hides the traffic jam of Tupperware was standing open. A load of clean but unfolded laundry was piled on the table, and as I padded barefoot across the floor I picked up enough sand to cure the erosion at the Outer Banks.

The summer schedule of library trips and two dollar movie & popcorn mornings and dunks in the community pool have taken their toll. I’ve been so busy avoiding the dreaded, “Mom, I’m bored!” syndrome that my normally less than stellar housekeeping has slipped into something that could easily qualify me for an appearance on Hoarders.

It. Ends. Now.

I can’t live like this. I can’t function like this. I can’t find myself so freaked out that at 11 o’clock at night I’m on my hands and knees with an old toothbrush and a bottle of Greased Lightning scrubbing the quarter round beneath the kitchen cabinets.

Because that’s what happens when I freak out. I go from living comfortably messy to scrubbing everything in sight like The Maniacal Disinfecting Queen.

After the freaked out cleaning marathon had subsided, I sat down at my computer to make a list of minor stuff that needs to happen every day to keep this place off the county’s Condemned list.

I’ve got a list of stuff that’s got to be done in the morning. And I’m forcing encouraging the kids to help by letting them know we don’t go anywhere until that morning list is complete. I’ve got an afternoon list of tasks that are assigned to specific individuals. And I’ve got an evening list that should help cut down on the morning list and begin to get us out of our laid back summer groove into a more structured school’s starting in a month momentum.

I’m not going to share my list with you because I figure you’ve got one of your own. (If you don’t, email me at lavidalindsay at gmail dot com. I’ll be happy to share.)

And I figure if we’ve got to have a list staring at us, killing the relaxed summer vibe we’ve gotten used to, it’d better be enjoyable to look at. Heaven knows the chores on it won’t be.

So I will share my pretty printable Dailies form with you. Bear in mind, I threw this together in about a half hour between one and two a.m. so it’s not going to win any graphic design awards.

Print it out, write your Do This Daily stuff on it, slip it into a page protector and grab a dry erase marker, and you’ve got an attractive way to keep up with…well…all that daily crap. Every day. For a whole week.

 

Feel free to let me know what I can do to make this daily list a bit better. I’m all for constructive criticism. And if you’d like to share your own personal freak out moments, do it! Do it now! I’d like to know I’m not alone…alone…alone (yeah, crappy imitation of an echo…but it’ll have to do).

Tags: , ,

Categories: Daily To Do List, Printables

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

