Demolition Day

“I know you need a project…”

Those are the very words The Hubster said to me this morning when he called. We were in the midst of a heated discussion about the impending collapse of our front porch, and that comment turned up the fire under my already heated burner.

I do not need another project. I’ve got so many projects on my to do list I couldn’t get them done in a month of Sundays if I had eight arms.

So I really really really don’t need another project…especially one the size and scope of a complete front porch re-build. But the possibility of a collapse resulting in a huge gaping hole in our roof pushed the rebuild to #1 on the chart. With a bullet.

With a little help from a friend of mine, and a lot of help from The Hubster once he got home from work, I no longer have to worry about the porch falling off.

In a single day we went from a complete porch (albeit one that was falling down) to this…

I wish I’d taken the time to document the process.

My friend Ben helped me make a couple of T-beams from 2×4′s and 4×4′s and use them (along with a couple of hydraulic jacks) to push the porch roof back into place. Once we knew the roof structure was stable we were able to put in temporary supports, drive stakes to hold them in place, remove the jacks, and begin demo.  We cut away the porch railings and removed the nails holding the bases of the 4×4 posts to the porch deck.  The posts dangled from the roof like some kind of weird loose teeth.

The Hubster saved us hours of back breaking labor by chaining the deck to the bucket of his tractor and using John Deere power to finish demo. First he used the tractor to pull the porch deck loose from the ledger board while I prayed he didn’t knock out the temporary supports.

Deere Demolition Power

Once the deck was loose, he moved around to the side and pulled the entire structure from beneath the porch roof. (I know I pick on my country-boy-on-a-tractor husband, but sometimes I think his tractor’s sexy.)

I feel like I can breathe a bit now. But I’m not going to be completely okay with any of this until I’ve got footers poured and permanent posts in place.

The joys of home ownership.

Tags: , ,

Categories: Front Porch, Renovations

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

